Social media: content is king

31.10.2018

Communicating with customers in the shop or by telephone is a matter of course for green businesses, but communicating online with their customers, including on social media, is something many firms find very difficult. From specialist editor Katrin Klawitter

“Set yourself apart from the crowd,” is the advice of Heidi Hecht not just to horticultural companies, on the subject of online contact with customers.

Communication with the customer becomes a basic requirement thanks to social media

Thanks to social media and opportunities for online interaction, online communication is a matter of routine today, and a major component of the business process. This is the encouraging message from Heidi Hecht, Project Manager Social Media and PR at the Grünen Medienhaus (Bonn), to visitors to this year’s Bedding and Balcony Plant Day in Ahlem. She is convinced that social media can have a positive influence on trade.

The facts speak for themselves. She knows that four out of ten social media users have already bookmarked the product concerned before buying it online or have shared it as a favourite on Twitter, Facebook or Pinterest. And 71 per cent of consumers look for inspiration by references in the social media before buying a product.

Which social media have the greatest influence on purchasing today?

According to Heidi Hecht, Facebook (30.8 %) is in first place, followed by YouTube and LinkedIn (each 27%), Google Plus (20%), Pinterest (12%) and Twitter (8%). The influence of each of the media varies with the product groups. In the gardening and decorating sphere, Pinterest (18%) exercises more influence than Facebook (8%) and Twitter (8%).

Studies from neuromarketing prove that only two per cent of information we receive is retained in our memory. So, in this whole flow of information, how do green companies manage to make sure they are included in this two per cent? Hecht thinks that the first important factor is the composition of one’s own target group and its online needs. These differ quite markedly from men to women.

According to Heidi Hecht, women use Facebook somewhat more often than men: 51.2% of the 2.1 billion or so Facebook users all over the world and of the 30 million in Germany are women. Conversely, 55% of the 1 billion Instagram users throughout the world are men. This is astonishing and not just for the Ahlem audience. When viewing online contents women pay more attention to whether what they are looking at is intelligent and useful to them, whereas for men the usefulness of the content has no role to play; for them it is rather more important that the content is amusing.

Younger people are inspired by images, older people by text

A company’s Internet presence must have contents suited to its different types of customer. Heidi Hecht’s maxim is: “Content is king”. By ‘content’ she does not only mean the contents as such, but also the way they are presented. According to this maxim, young customers of between 18 and 24 years of age primarily prefer content in the form of videos (65%), followed by photos (51%) and social media posts (49%). Conversely, users over 55 years of age prefer news bulletins (59%) to inform them about the contents, followed by videos (43%) and studies (40%). In a nutshell: Younger people are easier to enthuse online with images and older people prefer texts.

Which social medium is suitable for my company?

The preferred media are also different. In contrast to what is often said, more young people (88%) than older people (69%) have a Facebook account. Facebook is therefore still the all-purpose social medium. Conversely, it is almost exclusively younger people (64%) who use Instagram accounts; only a few older people (9%) use them. The differences in Snapchat are even starker. In this case, 59% of younger people and only 1% of older people have an account. The differences are not as significant for Twitter and Pinterest; young and old use Xing and LinkedIn to almost the same extent.

As far as the content is concerned, Heidi Hecht advises to tell a story, a common advertising technique. This is the best way of targeting the attention the two per cent. “Right from childhood we liked good, exciting, funny stories,” says the expert. Why should this be otherwise in the social media? And she illustrates this with, among other examples, the saucy, catchy advertising from Sixt (“For everyone who has a Gauland in the neighbourhood, hire a cost-effective removal van now.”), the “Eat-karus” video from Edeka and the Volmary campaign with its “ice babies”, all of which are good examples of how to catch the audience’s attention.

Set yourself apart from other companies in online contact with customers

“Set yourself apart from the crowd,” advises Heidi Hecht, including for online contact with customers. This applies not only to the right content format, but also to finding the right social network. She advises companies to motivate with stories, to get across visions, messages and information of a kind that the users will to a great extent remember. For this is in the long run what influences their decision to purchase. According to Heidi Hecht, Instagram is more time-consuming than Facebook; two to three posts should be up and running there. According to a consultant, managing social media contents is a daily task and for this reason companies should appoint a social media manager, either externally or from their own staff, for example a loyal employee.

Newsletter

Social Media: Content is King

31.10.2018

Im Geschäft, am Telefon ist die Kommunikation mit dem Kunden für grüne Unternehmen selbstverständlich – aber online mit ihren Kunden zu kommunizieren – auch über Social Media – das fällt immer noch vielen recht schwer. Von Fachredakteurin Katrin Klawitter

„Setze dich von den anderen ab“, rät Expertin Heidi Hecht nicht nur Gartenbau-Unternehmen für den Online-Kontakt mit Kunden.

Kommunikation mit dem Kunden dank Social Media selbstverständlich

Dabei ist Kommunikation dank Social Media und Interaktionsmöglichkeiten heute auch online bereits selbstverständlich und ein wichtiger Baustein im Geschäftsprozess, motivierte Heidi Hecht, Projektmanagerin Social Media und PR beim Grünen Medienhaus (Bonn), die Besucher des diesjährigen Beet- und Balkonpflanzentagea in Ahlem. Sie ist sich sicher: Social Media können den Handel positiv beeinflussen.

Fakten sprechen hier für sich: Vier von zehn Social Media-Nutzern haben heute vor einem Online-Kauf das betreffende Produkt bereits markiert oder als Favorit in Twitter, Facebook oder Pinterest geteilt, weiß sie. Und 71 Prozent der Konsumenten lassen sich beim Kauf von Referenzen in den Social Media leiten.

Welche sozialen Medien beeinflussen Käufe heute am meisten?

An vorderster Front ist das laut Heidi Hecht immer noch Facebook (30,8 Prozent), gefolgt von YouTube und LinkedIn (je 27 Prozent), Google Plus (20 Prozent), Pinterest (zwölf Prozent) und Twitter (acht Prozent). Dabei variieren die beeinflussenden Medien mit den Produktgruppen: Im Bereich Gärtnern und Dekorieren übt Pinterest mit 18 Prozent mehr Einfluss aus als Facebook (acht Prozent) und Twitter (acht Prozent).

Studien aus dem Neuromarketing belegen, dass nur zwei Prozent der wahrgenommenen Informationen im Kopf bleiben. Aber wie schaffen grüne Unternehmen es, bei der ganzen Informationsflut, zu diesen zwei Prozent zu gehören? Wichtig ist laut Hecht zuerst einmal, zu schauen, wie die eigene Zielgruppe gestrickt ist und welche Online-Bedürfnisse sie hat. Die unterscheiden sich nämlich je nach Geschlecht schon einmal recht deutlich.

Frauen sind laut Heidi Hecht etwas häufiger auf Facebook unterwegs als Männer: 51,2 Prozent der rund 2,1 Milliarden Facebooknutzer weltweit beziehungsweise der 30 Millionen in Deutschland sind Frauen. Demgegenüber sind 55 Prozent der weltweit eine Milliarde Instagram-Nutzer Männer. Überraschend, nicht nur für das Ahlemer Publikum: Bei Online-Inhalten achten Frauen eher darauf, ob das Gesehene für sie nützlich, intelligent ist, während für Männer die Nützlichkeit des Inhalts eher keine Rolle spielt – ihnen ist eher wichtig, dass er lustig ist.

Jüngere lassen sich durch Bilder, Ältere eher durch Text begeistern

Je nach Kunden muss ein Unternehmen in seinem Online-Auftritt den passenden Content haben. „Content is King“, so Heidi Hecht. Content ist dabei nicht nur der Inhalt an sich, sondern auch seine dargestellt Form. Demnach bevorzugen junge Kunden zwischen 18 und 24 Jahren in erster Linie Videos als Content-Format (65 Prozent), gefolgt von Fotos (51 Prozent) und Social Media Posts (49 Prozent). Demgegenüber mag der User über 55 Jahren vor allem die Nachrichtenform (59 Prozent), um über Inhalte informiert zu werden, es folgen Videos (43 Prozent) in seiner Beliebtheitsskala, dann Studien (40 Prozent). Auf den Punkt gebracht: Jüngere sind online eher mit Bildern zu begeistern, bei Älteren kommen eher Texte an.

Welches soziale Medium ist für mein Unternehmen geeignet?

Auch die bevorzugten Medien sind unterschiedlich: Anders als oft kommuniziert haben mehr Jüngere (88 Prozent) als Ältere (69 Prozent) einen Facebook-Account. Facebook ist damit immer noch der „Allrounder“. Instagram-Accounts nutzen dagegen fast nur Jüngere (64 Prozent), Ältere nur wenig (neun Prozent). Noch krasser sind die Unterschiede bei Snapchat: Hier haben 59 Prozent der Jüngeren, aber nur ein Prozent der Älteren einen Account. Bei Twitter und Pinterest sind die Unterschiede nicht ganz so groß, Xing und LinkedIn nutzen Jüngere und Ältere fast gleich stark.

Beim Inhalt, empfiehlt Heidi Hecht, gilt, wie auch im Marketing immer empfohlen, das Storytelling als wichtigste Möglichkeit, möglichst viel der zwei Prozent Aufmerksamkeit zu erzielen. „Schon als Kinder mochten wir gute, spannende und lustige Geschichten“, so die Expertin: Warum sollte das also in den Social Media anders sein? Und so zeigte sie unter anderem die freche, einprägsame Werbung von Sixt („Für alle, die einen Gauland in der Nachbarschaft haben: Jetzt einen günstigen Umzugs-Lkw mieten“), das „Eat-karus“-Video von Edeka und die Volmary-Kampagne mit seinen „Ice Babies“ als gute, aufmerksamkeitsstarke Beispiele.

Setze dich im Online-Kontakt mit Kunden von anderen Unternehmen ab

„Setze dich von den anderen ab“, rät Heidi Hecht auch für den Online-Kontakt mit Kunden. Es gilt, nicht nur das richtige Content-Format, sondern auch das richtige soziale Netzwerk zu finden. Und dort mit Geschichten zu bewegen, Visionen, Botschaften und Informationen derart zu transportieren, dass der Nutzer sich in hohem Maße erinnert: Denn das beeinflusst letztendlich seine Kaufentscheidung positiv. Laut Heidi Hecht ist Instagam aufwendiger zu bespielen als Facebook, zwei bis drei Posts pro Tag sollten da schon sein. Social Media, intensiv bespielt, sind auf jeden Fall ein täglicher Job, darauf wies eine Beraterin hin, für den man einen Social-Media-Manager beauftragen sollte – extern oder aus den eigenen Reihen, beispielsweise einen loyalen Mitarbeiter.

Newsletter